Genesis 1:6-8

28 Oct

“And God said, “Let there be an expanse between the waters to separate water from water.”  So God made the expanse and separated water under the expanse from the water above it.  And it was so.  God called the expanse “sky.”  And there was evening, and there was morning –the second day.”

Now, for the two or so readers who actually read these blogs about the Bible…I have to say…it doesn’t seem like there is much here for “personal spiritual growth”.  All I know is that this passage goes along with what I have been saying about order and the pattern found in the creation story.  When we see this passage though, we do get to see the creation of the “sky”, which will later be teeming with birds, but right now is just a watery barrier.  The only question I can ask is:  what is the water above the sky?  Is that heaven?  I only ask because the water below the expanse will become the oceans but the water above the expanse is not mentioned again in the creation story.  So what was the writer’s purpose for that adding that in there?  Maybe it was just the separation of waters, who knows.

The point is that we (or just me by myself) are reading the Bible, I’m trying to do that everyday, or as often as I can.  I was recently in a parenting class at church and we went over posterity and what kind of legacy we want to leave in our children.  To leave the impression that God is important in her life, He needs to be important in my life.  And so that is what I’m trying to do here, not necessarily discover the “secrets of the Bible”.

So if you have anything of value or merit to say about this passage, let me know, I would love to hear it.

Leave a Reply

