October 16, 2011

16 Oct

What is the point?  What is the point of all of this?  My life with my family and the perpetuation of the life that I live will be left to my daughter and any other kids my wife and I may have…but why?  Why in the world would I want to give this life to her?  Knowing my daughter this far (six mos.) has been wonderful, but she will face trouble as she grows up, she will face pain and suffering and being hurt by people, much less the rest of the world.  Sure, she may have happy moments, but on the whole, will her life just suck?  I mean as of right now the world just seems to be getting worse, civility is out the window and does not seem to be coming back.  Debt is rampant (for everyone) and the governments of the world don’t make it any easier.  Why would I want to leave all of that to her?  In what ways can I make the world a better place for my daughter?  Would that help anything?  Or should we just accept that life is full of pain and suffering?  Does pain actually make you stronger?  Or does it just expose more weakness to the surface?  What is the point of being alive if life sucks?  Trust me, I am in no way talking about suicide here, but the actual act of living.  What does it mean to live?  If it is simply existing, than I would like to opt out next time I take the survey.  But if it is actually experiencing a life full of both joy and sorrow, then I suppose that I could deal with that (I kind of have to).  But joy and sorrow do not need to be balanced, and fortunately, I have no way of balancing them out.  So, to my daughter, whose life is fully ahead of her, I fear and I worry constantly about how she will view the world, because that will affect the choices she makes and the person she becomes.  But if she is able to see that there is good (God for us) in the world, then will that help?  For some people that I know, that good is not representative of God, but of the human spirit, of the will to pull ourselves together and form a community that is willing to help others half way across the world that they have never seen before, but yet neglect to even get to know their own neighbors…no I firmly believe that God is the good in the world.  Because people are both good and bad, we are not able to be the good in the world it can’t be sustained at all.  God is good all the time and is therefore able to maintain the good in the world.  Some would say to that ‘God’s existence without his intervention has led humanity to band together in times of need, so, as the quote goes “God is dead,” ‘.  Well, people’s need for God has somewhat diminished in the more industrialized world because the call for bread is more important somehow, and the dependence that was needed to maintain a faith in God has also diminished.  So to that extent, I would change the quote from God is dead to the need for God is dead.

So for my daughter to experience life without the need for God, that seems very sad to me.  Living a life with purpose and joy, well that comes from a firm belief in God.  Why?  A belief in God brings about a constant challenge for the believer.  For them, the challenge is to actually serve others, to go out of their way to make sure that others are taken care of before they are, and to not receive any praise or glory from the good things they do and to take responsibility for their actions.  This challenge pushes us not only to our limits emotionally and mentally, but physically, as we begin to see the need to serve others outside of our community, reaching out and showing love to everyone around them not because they believe the same thing but because they are human, and they exist, and they deserve to live with the same chances we have to live life with purpose and passion.

Pain and suffering will come to her, and they will come hard with all that they can muster against my sweet little girl.  But that does not make me sad, not as sad as it would if she had not protection against them, against falling down, against being kept down for whatever reason.  I would be sad if she had nobody to help pull her up and hold her tightly when she falls down and when she gets hurt, but she isn’t alone…far from it…the fact that my wife and I will raise our daughter with the tools she needs to face this world and truly live in it is refreshing and I hope that I am up for the challenge.

What is the point?  Why would I want to pass this life onto my daughter, because as a human being who has never experienced pain, she has not been able to fully live yet.  She will need to experience heart wrenching agony in order to live…she will need to experience full joy and over bounding happiness to live a full life.  All I can do is sit back and wait for her to come to me, so I can point her to the One who is really catching her.

One Response to “October 16, 2011”

  1. DStanTheMc October 16, 2011 at 8:00 pm #

    Very true……We have to keep our hope in God and give others that hope.

Leave a Reply

